Hitting streets today: The Legendary Pink Dots “Seconds Late For The Brighton Line” (ROIR)

Unlike most acts of their vintage, The Legendary Pink Dots look forward. After more than 25 years, they continue to make compelling new music that is demanded by fans and maintains the high level of quality that set their careers in motion. Led by singer/songwriter Edward Ka-Spel and keyboardist/songwriter Phil “Silverman” Knight, the band continues to create their singular brand of modern psychedelia. Edward Ka-Spel’s lyrics breathe with a sagacity and cleverness only found in rock’s greatest writers. Their new album “Seconds Late For The Brighton Line” finds the band in familiar territory; pulsing Krautrock, dark and sinister pop and epic post-industrial soundscapes. The album invites the listener to put on head phones, close their eyes and embark on a technicolor journey. Stand out tracks include the epic electronic groove of “Russian Roulette”, the pretty naivete of “Someday” and the chilling goth-pop of “Endless Time.” The recent departure of long-time band members Niels Van Hoorn & Martijn De Kleer has left The Legendary Pink Dots to operate as a quartet. The new crew will embark on an extensive North American tour this Fall that celebrates the band’s 30th Anniversary.

Legendary Pink Dots (official site)
Seconds Late for the Brighton Line
Label Site: ROIR (say ROAR!)
RUSCD/LP 8317

Release Date: Oct 5, 2010
DOUBLE LP UPC #: 0-5343-68317-1-7
CD UPC #: 0-5343-68317-2-4

Press:

Pitchfork says: “…they traffic in horror and gothic darkness, but they do it with elegance, more slowly crescendoing George Romero dread than Wes Craven splatterfest.”

Arthur Magazine says: “It’s ominous, sinister pop… crushed velvet, light rain, spooky carnivals…”

SPIN Magazine says: “Fancy a break from the norm? These U.K. psychedelic rockers mix LSD whimsy & industrial gloom.

Time Out New York says: “…they’ve earned the legendary by now”

LA Weekly says: “The ‘Pink Dots are the latest, greatest thing – always will be – ‘cause one can never pinpoint exactly what they’re on about but can suffer measureless revelation upon hearing it.”

Seattle Weekly Says: “Softly psychedelic like a dreamer with blurry vision, and manically poppy as in the old days of the Flaming Lips.”

Popmatters Says: Pop Matters says: “New listeners beware; the intellectual stimulator of Dots records is addictive.”

Tour:

US & CANADA TOUR

Fri Oct 15 – Biltmore, Vancouver, BC
Sat Oct 16 – El Corazon, Seattle, WA
Mon Oct 18 – Club Sound, Salt Lake City, UT
Tue Oct 19 – Gothic Theater, Englewood, CO
Thur Oct 21 – Triple Rock, Minneapolis, MN
Fri Oct 22 – Double Door, Chicago, IL
Sat Oct 23 – Rumba Café, Columbus, OH
Sun Oct 24 – Grog Shop, Cleveland, OH
Mon Oct 25 – Magic Stick, Detroit, MI
Tue Oct 26 – The Mod Club, Toronto, ON
Thur Oct 28 – Middle East Upstairs, Cambridge, MA
Fri Oct 29 – Le Poisson Rouge, New York, NY
Sat Oct 30 – DC9, Washington, DC
Sunday, Oct 31 – Irving Plaza, NYC (with DRESDEN DOLLS)
Mon Nov 1 – M Room, Philadelphia, PA
Tue Nov 2 – Thunderbird Café, Pittsburgh, PA
Wed Nov 3 – Local 506, Chapel Hill, NC
Thur Nov 4 – The Masquerade, Atlanta, GA
Fri Nov 5 – The Plaza Theatre, Orlando, FL
Sat Nov 6 – Orpheum, Tampa, FL
Tue Nov 9 – House of Blues Dallas, Dallas, TX
Wed Nov 10 – Elyslum, Austin, TX
Sun Nov 14 – The Rhythm Room, Scottsdale, AZ
Mon Nov 15 – The Casbah, San Diego, CA
Tue Nov 16 – Echoplex, Echo Park, CA
Wed Nov 17 – Sainte Rocke, Hermosa Beach, CA
Thur Nov 18 – The Detroit Bar, Costa Mesa, CA
Fri Nov 19 – Café Du Nord, San Francisco, CA
Sat Nov 20 – Café Du Nord, San Francisco, CA
Mon Nov 22 – Doug Fir Lounge, Portland, OR

<a href="http://legendarypinkdots.bandcamp.com/album/seconds-late-for-the-brighton-line">Russian Roulette by Legendary Pink Dots</a>

Leave a Reply